Applies to: Nintendo Switch
All of the data stored in the console's system memory will be deleted, including software data, save data, screenshots and user information.
Use this feature before exchanging or disposing of your Nintendo Switch console.
If you are trying to reformat your console because a problem has occurred, we recommend that you try restoring the factory settings without deleting save data.
If you restore factory settings while the console is not connected to the internet, the console will not be deregistered as the active console for downloads for your Nintendo Account.
The console will be automatically deregistered the first time you start Nintendo eShop on it after restoring it to factory settings, but in the meantime you will not be able to register another console as the active console for downloads for your Nintendo Account.
Please read the information here if you exchange or dispose of a Nintendo Switch console that is still registered as the active console for downloads for your Nintendo Account.
Restoring the console to factory settings will delete all data, and you will no longer be able to use data saved on a microSD card.
Screenshots saved to a microSD card will not be affected and can continue to be used.
The following will not be affected if the console is restored to factory settings:
Your Nintendo eShop funds and account activity will be saved to Nintendo Shopping Services. If you link your Nintendo Account to another user, you will be able to redownload software data from Nintendo eShop.
Open System Settings on the HOME Menu, then select System ⇒ Formatting Options ⇒ Restore Factory Settings.
© 2017 Nintendo.