How can I move, copy, or delete Memory Card files?

Applies to: Nintendo GameCube


Data can be moved, copied or deleted in the Memory Card menu of the system menu (main menu).

In order to move or copy files:

  • a Memory Card must be inserted into both Slot A and B in the Nintendo GameCube
  • the Memory Card to be copied to must have sufficient free memory
  • there must be no files with the same name already stored on this Memory Card
  • the file must be able to be copied or moved

Moving a file:

  1. Select the file to be moved with the Control Stick and confirm with the A button.
  2. Select 'move' with the Control Stick and confirm with the A button.
  3. A screen appears to confirm the selection (go to 'Yes' with the Control Stick and confirm with the A button).

The file is now moved to the other Memory Card.

Copying a file:

  1. Select the file to be copied with the Control Stick and confirm with the A button.
  2. Select 'copy' with the Control Stick and confirm with the A button.
  3. A screen appears to confirm the selection (go to 'Yes' with the Control Stick and confirm with the A button).

The file is now copied to the other Memory Card.

Deleting a file:

  1. Select the file to be deleted with the Control Stick and confirm with the A button.
  2. Select 'delete' with the Control Stick and confirm with the A button.
  3. A screen appears to confirm the selection (go to 'Yes' with the Control Stick and confirm with the A button).

The file is now deleted. As soon as a file is deleted it is lost for good!