How to use the Save Data Transfer Tool

Important notes:

  • An Internet connection is required to transfer save data.
  • The Save Data Transfer Tool is used to transfer save data; it does not copy save data. Once transferred, the original save data is deleted.
  • Do not turn off the power or remove the Game Card when transferring save data.
  • Depending on the game, extra data may be saved onto an SD Card (StreetPass data, SpotPass data, etc.). If you wish to retain this data, you must transfer save data to the same SD Card.
  • Save data can only be transferred from the retail version of software to the downloadable version. You cannot transfer save data from the downloadable version of software to the retail version and you cannot transfer save data between two copies of the software (retail or downloadable).
  • Any save data already on the downloadable version of the software will be overwritten during the transfer process.
  • System menu version 5.0.0-11E or higher is required to use the Save Data Transfer Tool. If you require assistance updating your system, click here.

How to use the Save Data Transfer Tool

  1. Ensure the SD Card inserted in your Nintendo 3DS system has the downloadable version of the software installed.
  2. Connect to Nintendo eShop and download the Save Data Transfer Tool.
  3. Insert the retail version of the software into your Nintendo 3DS system.
  4. From the Nintendo 3DS HOME Menu, select "Save Data Transfer Tool".
  5. Follow the on-screen instructions carefully and tap the transfer button when ready to transfer the save data. Do not turn the power off or remove the Nintendo 3DS Game Card during the save data transfer process. This can cause the save data to become corrupt or lost. If the save data is lost during the transfer process, it cannot be recovered.


More about: Games, Storage